EUREKA BOOKS (est. 1987)
426 2nd St. Eureka, CA 95501. Map It
(707) 444-9593
logo image  logo image  logo image

About: admin

admin
Profile:

Website

Contact:

Email admin

Posts by admin

Every mountain top is within reach

“Every mountain top is within reach if you just keep climbing.” ― Barry Finlay, Kilimanjaro and Beyond We try to keep this in mind as we pull books from the tops of the 18-foot-tall shelves that line Serendipity Books. There are so many books that when we move the books down and empty all the […]

Read | Comments Off on Every mountain top is within reach | Tags: Serendipity

Fool’s Gold

My wife calls what’s the process of sifting through the thousands of books at Serendipity mining for gold. This was the first shiny object we found: an old painting with the hint of a signature in the lower left corner. We took the picture out of its frame and the name was Howard Pyle, one […]

Read | Comments Off on Fool’s Gold | Tags: Serendipity

Holy Sh*!#$t

Jack Irvine, Eureka Books’ co-owner, was the first in the building. He picked up the keys one Saturday with his wife. Confronted by scenes like this, she reportedly wandered around Serendipity Books muttering “Holy shit!” over and over.

Read | Comments Off on Holy Sh*!#$t | Tags: Serendipity

It Seems the Family Has Gone For Your Bid

The day after my 47th birthday, I received the following email from Bonhams, the auction house hired to disperse the inventory of Serendipity Books, Inc.: It seems that the family has gone for your bid. I think I can work out all the details next week and give you the ability to start as soon […]

Read | Comments Off on It Seems the Family Has Gone For Your Bid | Tags: Serendipity

Serendipity Books

SALE IS OVER. ALL MERCHANDISE IS SOLD It’s official now, we are the final custodians of Serendipity Books, in Berkeley, one of the great bookstores on the West Coast. After a series of auctions, shelf sales, and wholesale sell-offs, we recently negotiated the purchase of the remaining contents (probably more books than can be currently […]

Read | Comments Off on Serendipity Books | Tags: Blog · Bookselling · Feature · Serendipity

We Have a Winner in the Paint Our Building Voting

  After receiving 961 public votes and accounting for the opinions of the staff and owners of Eureka Books, this paint design created by Carson Park Design is the overall winner in our Paint Our Building poll. Let’s hope the weather holds so we can get the place painted this year! Thanks to all our […]

Read | Comments Off on We Have a Winner in the Paint Our Building Voting | Tags: Bookstore · Feature 3

Help Paint Eureka Books

It’s been about 20 years since Eureka Books was last painted and we’ve decided it’s time for a new look, and we’d like your help. We’ve narrowed it down to nine different designs. Tell us which one you like best. Or stop by the store – we have them all on the wall.

Read | Comments Off on Help Paint Eureka Books | Tags: Bookstore

Now Hiring: Assistant Manager, Used Books

Open Position: Assistant Manager, Used Books The primary responsibility of this position will be supervising the used book division of the store, including buying used books, cataloging, Internet sales, packing and shipping. This is in addition to the sorts of work we all do: customer service, cashier duties, and general bookstore maintenance, such as shelving […]

Read | Comments Off on Now Hiring: Assistant Manager, Used Books | Tags: Bookselling · Feature

Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier

The newest book on Humboldt County goes on sale June 18th.  Until then we have it under lock and key. From the publisher: In the vein of Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman’s Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture–one that marijuana built. Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier Say the […]

Read | Comments Off on Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier | Tags: Books · Feature 2

Paint Eureka Main Street

Benjamin Moore, the paint company (available locally at Shafer’s), has just announced a contest in which 20 winning towns will have their Main Streets painted for free! And Eureka is one of the towns in the running. You can vote for Eureka once a day, every day, between now and June 30 at PaintWhatMatters.com. Right […]

Read | Comments Off on Paint Eureka Main Street | Tags: Events

previous page · next page

Categories