EUREKA BOOKS (est. 1987)

426 2nd St. Eureka, CA 95501. Map It
(707) 444-9593
   

Blog

Help Paint Eureka Books

August 28th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Bookstore

old-and-new

It’s been about 20 years since Eureka Books was last painted and we’ve decided it’s time for a new look, and we’d like your help. We’ve narrowed it down to nine different designs. Tell us which one you like best. Or stop by the store – we have them all on the wall.


Now Hiring: Assistant Manager, Used Books

August 13th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Bookselling, Feature

help-wanted-sign

Open Position: Assistant Manager, Used Books

The primary responsibility of this position will be supervising the used book division of the store, including buying used books, cataloging, Internet sales, packing and shipping. This is in addition to the sorts of work we all do: customer service, cashier duties, and general bookstore maintenance, such as shelving and organizing.

Applicants should have bookstore or closely related experience. We are especially hoping to find someone familiar with the buying and selling of used books, but people with experience regularly selling anything on eBay, Etsy, the flea market, or similar venues are encouraged to apply.

To apply (and this is the first test for the position), drop off or mail in a resume and cover letter. The cover letter should provide a summary of your experience and qualifications for the job. We’re in the book business and that means paper. Electronically submitted resumes will get about as much attention as e-books, which is to say the delete key is just one index finger away.

Please don’t spend much time telling us how much you love books or how you’ve always longed to work in a bookstore. We’ll assume that’s the case, otherwise you’d be applying to work at BevMo. If you are also applying to work at BevMo, good luck. Let us know if they carry Cocchi Americano because we can’t get it in Humboldt County. But we’re not looking for someone who is simply looking for yet another retail job.

This is not a cush job, but it is an interesting one (we think). We work hard, all day. You will not have any time to read on the job (a common misconception about bookstores), though we expect you to be the sort of person who reads a lot in your off hours. You will also not have time to be bored. You will be challenged constantly and faced with surprisingly complex problems that need to be solved on the fly. On the same day, you may interact with a homeless person, an avid reader looking for advice choosing a title for a book club, a teenager trying to decide what to read after The Hunger Games, the curator of a prestigious library, and the odd billionaire (and aren’t they all odd?).

As the person overseeing used books, you will negotiate the purchase of used books, which often means house calls. A valid CA driver’s license and insurance are required. You will also need the ability to select the books the store needs and calculate a fair price for them without access to any tool other than your brain (training will be provided). You should feel comfortable negotiating deals and working by yourself, at someone else’s house. (We never carry cash and take prudent precautions, but that kind of work is not for everyone.)

You will be expected to work at least one weekend day as well as some evenings during tourist season and between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

The position starts at $12 per hour, full time plus bronze-level health benefits beginning in January 2014. (This benefit package is part of ObamaCare. If you oppose that, please understand that if you are hired, you may find yourself compromising your principles). Like most bookstores, we trend liberal but we are a store and by definition, capitalist, so we actually make some effort to cater to Republicans and Libertarians. We are also more likely to talk about the Giants than the Democrats.

The application period starts now and ends when we hire someone. Procrastination is not a qualification for this job.


Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier

June 12th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Books, Feature 2

Humboldt-book-coverThe newest book on Humboldt County goes on sale June 18th.  Until then we have it under lock and key.

From the publisher:

In the vein of Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman’s Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture–one that marijuana built.

Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier

Say the words “Humboldt County” to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.

Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It’s a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue–some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.

Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It’s the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.


Paint Eureka Main Street

June 2nd, 2013  |  by  |  published in Events

vote-eurekaBenjamin Moore, the paint company (available locally at Shafer’s), has just announced a contest in which 20 winning towns will have their Main Streets painted for free! And Eureka is one of the towns in the running.

You can vote for Eureka once a day, every day, between now and June 30 at PaintWhatMatters.com.

Right Click the image above to save it for your own use. Add it to Twitter and Facebook posts

Twitter: #paintwhatmatters ; @Benjamin_Moore

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/benjaminmoorepaints

Instagram (their preferred photo site): @BenjaminMoore

More information on the City of Eureka web site
http://www.ci.eureka.ca.gov/news/displaynews.asp?NewsID=427&targetid=1

Benjamin Moore has not said what counts as “Main Street” in Eureka, so let’s all pull together and win this thing for the good of the community.

 


Arts Alive June 1: Conifers of the Pacific Slope

May 21st, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Events, Feature 2

conifers-sq

Michael Kauffman, author of the hiking guide, Conifer Country, has a new book coming out–a field guide to all 65 species of conifers on the West Coast: Conifers of the Pacific Slope. Conifers are some of the oldest plants on the plant and include a number of world-record holders (and right here in California):

1. The largest living thing: the giant sequoia

2. The tallest living thing: the redwood

3. The oldest living thing: the bristlecone pine

Michael will be at Eureka Books on June 1, from 6 to 9 pm, during Arts Alive. He’ll sign books and answer all your conifer questions.


Bookselling & Bartending

May 3rd, 2013  |  by  |  published in Bookselling, Local Authors

Eureka Books at NightEureka Books co-owner Amy Stewart‘s essay on author-owned bookstores, with a booze twist, just appeared in Publisher’s Weekly, a trade journal for the book industry:

Doesn’t it seem like bookstores are the latest fashion accessory for authors? We should be shopping for a sensible handbag that doubles as a carry-on, but instead we’re out buying bookstores. Ann Patchett has one, as do Louise Erdrich, Jonathan Lethem, and Garrison Keillor. Larry McMurtry owns several, although I hear he’s consolidating…. [read on]


Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

April 11th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Blog, Catalog

Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

Eureka Books’ latest short list #29, on Social Movements, is now online. Subjects include Internment Camps, Freedom Riders, Black Panthers, Fugitive Slaves, Young Lords, Civil Rights, Zoot Suits, Chicano Tattoos, Paños, and the UFW.


Eureka: Then and Now

February 21st, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Blog, Events, Local Authors

eureka-then-and-now-sqLocal author Scott Brown (not the Scott Brown who works at the store) has just had a new book published: Eureka-Then and Now, which pairs historic photographs with modern images taken in the same location. The book is in stock now.

Come by during Arts Alive! on March 2 (6 to 9 pm) to have him sign your book.


The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart Available Now!

February 7th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Feature 3, Local Authors

The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart

The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart

Amy Stewart’s long-awaited book, The Drunken Botanist: The Plants That Create the World’s Great Drinks, is now available. You can order signed copies here or pick one up at Eureka Books.

The April 6th event will begin at 5 pm with Amy’s only talk in Humboldt County, followed by a cocktail party featuring drinks from the book. Mark your calender.


Booksigning: New Local History Books

February 7th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Events, Local Authors, New Arrivals

Logging Railroads by Katy Tahja and Eureka: Then and Now by Scott Brown

Logging Railroads by Katy Tahja and Eureka: Then and Now by Scott Brown

 

Be sure to drop by Eureka Books during March Arts Alive! (March 2, from 6 – 9 pm). We’re hosting two local authors who will be signing their new books, Katy Tahja’s Logging Railroads of Humboldt and Mendocino County and Scott Brown’s Eureka: Then and Now. As a side note, the Scott Brown who will be signing books is not the Scott Brown who owns Eureka Books (nor is he the former senator from Massachusetts).


Categories