EUREKA BOOKS (est. 1987)

426 2nd St. Eureka, CA 95501. Map It
(707) 444-9593
      

Blog

Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier

June 12th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Books, Feature 2

Humboldt-book-coverThe newest book on Humboldt County goes on sale June 18th.  Until then we have it under lock and key.

From the publisher:

In the vein of Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman’s Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture–one that marijuana built.

Humboldt: Life on America’s Marijuana Frontier

Say the words “Humboldt County” to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.

Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It’s a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue–some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.

Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It’s the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.


Paint Eureka Main Street

June 2nd, 2013  |  by  |  published in Events

vote-eurekaBenjamin Moore, the paint company (available locally at Shafer’s), has just announced a contest in which 20 winning towns will have their Main Streets painted for free! And Eureka is one of the towns in the running.

You can vote for Eureka once a day, every day, between now and June 30 at PaintWhatMatters.com.

Right Click the image above to save it for your own use. Add it to Twitter and Facebook posts

Twitter: #paintwhatmatters ; @Benjamin_Moore

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/benjaminmoorepaints

Instagram (their preferred photo site): @BenjaminMoore

More information on the City of Eureka web site
http://www.ci.eureka.ca.gov/news/displaynews.asp?NewsID=427&targetid=1

Benjamin Moore has not said what counts as “Main Street” in Eureka, so let’s all pull together and win this thing for the good of the community.

 


Arts Alive June 1: Conifers of the Pacific Slope

May 21st, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Events, Feature 2

conifers-sq

Michael Kauffman, author of the hiking guide, Conifer Country, has a new book coming out–a field guide to all 65 species of conifers on the West Coast: Conifers of the Pacific Slope. Conifers are some of the oldest plants on the plant and include a number of world-record holders (and right here in California):

1. The largest living thing: the giant sequoia

2. The tallest living thing: the redwood

3. The oldest living thing: the bristlecone pine

Michael will be at Eureka Books on June 1, from 6 to 9 pm, during Arts Alive. He’ll sign books and answer all your conifer questions.


Bookselling & Bartending

May 3rd, 2013  |  by  |  published in Bookselling, Local Authors

Eureka Books at NightEureka Books co-owner Amy Stewart‘s essay on author-owned bookstores, with a booze twist, just appeared in Publisher’s Weekly, a trade journal for the book industry:

Doesn’t it seem like bookstores are the latest fashion accessory for authors? We should be shopping for a sensible handbag that doubles as a carry-on, but instead we’re out buying bookstores. Ann Patchett has one, as do Louise Erdrich, Jonathan Lethem, and Garrison Keillor. Larry McMurtry owns several, although I hear he’s consolidating…. [read on]


Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

April 11th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Blogs, Catalog

Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

Eureka Books List 29: Social Movements

Eureka Books’ latest short list #29, on Social Movements, is now online. Subjects include Internment Camps, Freedom Riders, Black Panthers, Fugitive Slaves, Young Lords, Civil Rights, Zoot Suits, Chicano Tattoos, Paños, and the UFW.


Eureka: Then and Now

February 21st, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Blogs, Events, Local Authors

eureka-then-and-now-sqLocal author Scott Brown (not the Scott Brown who works at the store) has just had a new book published: Eureka-Then and Now, which pairs historic photographs with modern images taken in the same location. The book is in stock now.

Come by during Arts Alive! on March 2 (6 to 9 pm) to have him sign your book.


The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart Available Now!

February 7th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Arts Alive, Feature 3, Local Authors

The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart

The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart

Amy Stewart’s long-awaited book, The Drunken Botanist: The Plants That Create the World’s Great Drinks, is now available. You can order signed copies here or pick one up at Eureka Books.

The April 6th event will begin at 5 pm with Amy’s only talk in Humboldt County, followed by a cocktail party featuring drinks from the book. Mark your calender.


Booksigning: New Local History Books

February 7th, 2013  |  by  |  published in Events, Local Authors, New Arrivals

Logging Railroads by Katy Tahja and Eureka: Then and Now by Scott Brown

Logging Railroads by Katy Tahja and Eureka: Then and Now by Scott Brown

 

Be sure to drop by Eureka Books during March Arts Alive! (March 2, from 6 – 9 pm). We’re hosting two local authors who will be signing their new books, Katy Tahja’s Logging Railroads of Humboldt and Mendocino County and Scott Brown’s Eureka: Then and Now. As a side note, the Scott Brown who will be signing books is not the Scott Brown who owns Eureka Books (nor is he the former senator from Massachusetts).


Logging Railroads of Humboldt and Mendocino Counties

January 31st, 2013  |  by  |  published in Blogs, Humboldt County, Local Authors

 

Local history, railroad and logging buffs will be happy to see the arrival of this newly released book: Logging Railroads of Humboldt and Mendocino Counties.

Author Katy Tahja will be on hand to sign copies during the March Arts Alive (March 2nd, 6-9pm) but we have it in stock now.


Local Photographer Andy Westfall at the Horse Races

December 14th, 2012  |  by  |  published in Blogs, Local Authors

Jockeys before a race

An image from Backside at the Bull Ring by Andy Westfall

Local photographer Andy Westfall, author of the beautiful and completely sold-out book on ranching on the north coast, Humboldt Heartland, has just published a limited edition book of photographs taken behind the scenes at the Humboldt County Fair horse races. The book measures 17 by 11 inches, and reproduces 30 of Andy’s exquisite black-and-white photographs. The edition is just 30 copies and more than half are already taken.